Review- My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry by Fredrik Backman

This author has a quirky writing style and if you’ve already read A Man Called Ove you probably know what I’m talking about. It’s not a bad thing, but the beginnings can be a little long and rough. For the first 100 pages or so I struggled to understand what this book was supposed to really be about. 

This story is a little complicated and messy in the beginning- it’s written from the perspective of a 7-year-old girl (who comes off as more of a teenager/young adult in parts) and there is the idea of a land called Miamas which is an alternate-universe between sleep and awake and was somewhat confusing for me.

 

Overall, the story is about mothers-daughters, grandmothers-granddaughters, family, friends who are like family, second chances and forgiveness. Even though I really enjoyed this book, I needed to read it in small amounts of time. Again, this kind of goes back to the quirky writing style and I was the exact same way with Ove. 

 

If you haven’t read A Man Called Ove, I’d suggest that one first (although, please note that the two books are in no way related, I just recommend reading Ove first to get you acclimated to the writer). If you can deal with the writing style, then you should read this one too. Also, I know a ton of people that read Ove and most gave it 5-stars, everyone else gave it 4.
Also, side note- has anyone read Britt-Marie yet? She’s a secondary character in this book and for about 80% of the book she’s ultra-annoying and I couldn’t believe there would be an entire book about her. But we learn some truths about her life in the last 75 pages or so and now I’m really looking forward to reading that book in the near future!

Leave a Reply

