Difficult Women by Roxane Gay

I read “Bad Feminist” a few years back and loved it so I was more than ready to get my hands on Gay’s newest book.  I was on my library waiting list for quite awhile so when I finally got the email that it was in, I immediately went to pick it up and then devoured it story by story.

If you read only one book this year, make it “Difficult Women.”  It is so much more than just a compilation of stories.  It is transformative and beautiful.  I felt like there was a point in each story that just hit me at my core.  Many times when you pick up a book that is a compilation, you can expect to be really into about 60-70% of what you read and you might skip around on a few stories.  This book had me from beginning to end.  There was not one throw away piece in there, it all felt so vital and cohesive.  The way she writes feels so unbelievably personal, like you almost feel you know too much and you’re too close to these characters but also you can’t look away.

This book is not for the faint of heart.  Gay writes about women’s issues like miscarriage, rape, incest, domestic violence, racism, and infertility.  She is not afraid to be honest, clear and she doesn’t flinch or dance around any of these topics.  So be warned but read this book with an open heart and an open mind and allow yourself to feel for all the difficult women in the world and for the difficult woman that you may know or be.

Leave a Reply

