Monthly Roundup – January 2017

This year is off to a great start! We’ve each read some great books this month, and also some we wished we would’ve skipped. We’re really excited about all of the new releases that have come out already!

Gia:

I had two 5-star reads in January- You Will Know Me by Meghan Abbott and It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover. All of my other reads were right around 3 stars. I read The River at Night by Erika Ferencik, which was released in early January. I had really been looking forward to reading it, but the second half of the book was awful! Since there were tons of great releases this past month, I would recommend skipping this one and grabbing something else. (I’m reading Idaho now, another new January release and really enjoying it!) Check out our “2017 Most Anticipated Reads” section to some other options. Happy reading! 

Lauren:

I feel like I really kicked off this month well and I read some seriously good books (and a few duds.)  I absolutely recommend Widow Basquiat: A Love Story by Jennifer Clement, The Guineveres by Sarah Domet, and Just Kids by Patti Smith.  I am on the fence with The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon.  I liked it, I thought it was a good book but I don’t feel like it’s anything you MUST read.  In the forgettable category is Austenland by Shannon Hale.  I read 7 books in January so I feel like I’m off to a good start this year.  I’m looking forward to reading more classics in February and also reading the books I got for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

