Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I’m not sure if this book just wasn’t my taste or if I completely missed something because I feel totally alone in how I rated it. The book sounded exciting and interesting, but I’m telling you it was so boring.

The book is about two sisters, Scarlett and Tella, who are trying to escape their cruel father in different ways (Scarlett want to go through with an arranged marriage to someone she’s never met and Tella wants to run away). Scarlett is a timid, uncertain and generally weak character. She makes the smallest bit of progress at the very end of the book, but it’s just annoying that it takes so long. Tella is much more adventurous and daring, but since she’s locked in a tower for the entire book, we don’t get to enjoy any of the excitement. We’re just stuck with Scarlett’s horribly unexciting tale. Imagine how boring the Harry Potter series would have been if it was Neville’s story.

I didn’t feel invested in any of the characters and hardly flinched when one of the main characters died.

There was a twist at the end, and it was good in comparison to everything else. I’ll be honest though, the last page of the book contains a letter written to Tella and it held my interest. If the next book is written from Tella’s perspective I might just read it.

 

Leave a Reply

