Jane Steele Lyndsay Faye

“Reader, I murdered him”

Jane Steele is a hilariously dark and twisted novel. Steele compares her own life to Eyre’s (in a way that all readers probably do with characters they really love), and while there are similarities, the mood of the book is so, so, so much darker. I was worried that reading this might ruin Jane Eyre for me… it did not. This book stands alone and stands alone well.

Here’s a little sample of what you can expect: “I did not precisely want to kill him, mind- thus far I had reserved murder for those I had actually met- but I could kill him, and that was a comfort.”

Leave a Reply

